By Stuart Knight, Associate
Colorado is once again leading the way in criminal justice reform for non-violent drug offenses. On May 28, 2019, Colorado’s governor, Jared Polis, signed HB19-1263, (effective March 1, 2020) to make personal possession of less than 4 grams of any schedule 1 or schedule 2 controlled substance, possession of more than 12 ounces of marijuana, or possession 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate a misdemeanor rather than a felony. The purpose of this revised sentencing is to provide offenders in need of treatment or other intervention with probation supervision and effective medical and behavioral intervention and treatment. HB19-1263 also provides for the creation of drug court grant program for the purpose of providing money to eligible localities to operate a misdemeanor drug court recognizing that drug abuse is primarily a health concern and should be treated as such in Colorado courts.
Drug Possession Limits and Penalties Pre-HB19-1263
Prior to HB19-1263 the possession of
amount of controlled substances listed as schedule I or II under Colorado’s Uniform Substances Act was a minimum level 4 drug felony. This includes methamphetamines, psilocybin (a.k.a. magic mushrooms), morphine, and heroin. Furthermore, the possession of more than 12 ounces of marijuana or 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate was also considered a level 4 drug felony and the possession of 3 ounces or less of marijuana concentrate was considered a Class 1 drug misdemeanor. Class drug 4 felonies are presumptively punishable by six months to one year of imprisonment followed by a year of parole and/or the imposition of a $1000-$100,000 fine. Class 1 drug misdemeanors are punishable by a sentence of up to 2 years probation, with the possibility of up to 180 days of jail time and/or a maximum fine of $1,000. ANY Drug Possession Limits and Penalties Post-HB19-1263
Starting March 1, 2020, possession of less than 4 grams of a schedule I or II controlled substance, the possession of more than 12 ounces of marijuana, or the possession of more than three ounces of marijuana concentrate is considered a Class 1 drug misdemeanor. Possession of 3 ounces or less of marijuana concentrate is now considered a class 2 drug misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year of probation, with the possibility of up to 120 days of jail time, and/or a maximum $500 fine.
Misdemeanor Drug Court
In addition to revising the sentencing guidelines for minor drug possession HB19-1263 also created a grant program to support cities and counties in the implementation and operation of a misdemeanor drug court. The express purpose of these misdemeanor drug courts is to provide the necessary intervention to support misdemeanor drug offenders in an effort to treat drug abuse as a health concern, focusing on treatment over incarceration.
About Greenspoon Marder
Greenspoon Marder is a national full-service business law firm with 240 attorneys and 26 locations across the United States. We are ranked amongst
American Lawyer’s Am Law 200, as one of the top law firms in the U.S. since 2015. Since our inception in 1981, our firm has been committed to providing excellent client service through our cross-disciplinary, client-team approach. Our mission is to understand the challenges that our clients face, build collaborative relationships, and craft creative solutions designed and executed with long-term strategic goals in mind. We serve Fortune 500, middle-market public and private companies, start-ups, emerging businesses, individuals and entrepreneurs nationwide. MEDIA CONTACT Natalie Villanueva, Marketing/ PR Manager 954.333.4308 | email@example.com